SPARK Laboratory

The SPARK Laboratory was established within the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department at University of Kentucky in the fall of 2015. The group is affiliated with the Power and Energy Institute of Kentucky (PEIK) and covers research and teaching topics of alternative and renewable energy technologies, electric machines and power electronic drives, electric power systems, energy storage, smart grids and buildings. SPARK is directed by Professor Dan M. Ionel, Ph.D., FIEEE, who serves as the inaugural L. Stanley Pigman Chair in Power at University of Kentucky. Research is sponsored by NSF, DOE, NASA, and directly by industry and utilities. External collaborator organizations include: ANSYS Inc., AO Smith Corp., EPRI, LG&E and KU, NREL, Regal Beloit Corp., ORNL, QMPower, TVA, UK CAER, and others.

Welcome to our SPARK website>>